An Interview with Hayley Krischer

To listen to the full version of the interview, become a member at Buy Me A Coffee today!

Hayley Krischer, author of Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf and The Falling Girls, stopped by to talk about her books and play some games.

The Falling Girls

A riveting, intimate portrayal of just how intense and all-consuming female friendships can be. Urgent and piercing, The Falling Girls is a gut-punch of a book.

Jessica Goodman, New York Times bestselling author of They Wish They Were Us and They’ll Never Catch Us

From the author of the unforgettable Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes an intoxicating thriller about the dark paths female friendships can take, set against the backdrop of a high school cheerleading squad. Perfect for fans of Megan Abbott and Kathleen Glasgow.

Shade and Jadis are everything to each other. They share clothes, toothbrushes, and even matching stick-and-poke tattoos. So when Shade unexpectedly joins the cheerleading team, Jadis can hardly recognize who her best friend is becoming.

Shade loves the idea of falling into a group of girls; she loves the discipline it takes to push her body to the limits alongside these athletes. Most of all, Shade finds herself drawn to The Three Chloes–the insufferable trio that rules the squad–including the enigmatic cheer captain whose dark side is as compelling as it is alarming.

Jadis won’t give Shade up so easily, though, and the pull between her old best friend and her new teammates takes a toll on Shade as she tries to forge her own path. So when one of the cheerleaders dies under mysterious circumstances, Shade is determined to get to the bottom of her death. Because she knows Jadis–and if her friend is responsible, doesn’t that mean she is, too?

In this compelling, nuanced exploration of the layered, intoxicating relationships between teen girls, and all the darkness and light that exists between them, novelist Hayley Krischer weaves a story of loss and betrayal, and the deep reverberations felt at a friendship’s breaking point.

Spelling Bee

In this game, guests are given 10 commonly misspelled words. They must spell the words correctly and the game ends when they make a mistake.

AuthorBookDateScore
Jessica Vitalis (interview)The Wolf’s Curse9/10/217/10
Lisa Frenkel Riddiough (interview)Elvis and the World as it Stands10/24/215/10
Hayley Krischer (interview)The Falling Girls10/15/213/10

Never Have I Ever Spoiled My Own Book

Guests are given a series of tropes based on their upcoming or recently published work as well as stereotypical writerly things to do (EXAMPLE: Never have I ever written at a coffee shop, Never have I ever written a smoking gun, etc). If they have done more than half of the scenarios, they have to spoil something from their book.

*Marked scores indicate interviews with spoilers.

AuthorBookDateScore
Michelle Mason (interview)Your Life Has Been Delayed8/30/215/10*
Hayley Krischer (interview)The Falling Girls10/15/216/10*
Soman Chainani (interview)Beasts & Beauty: Dangerous Tales9/18/216/10*
Jessica Vitalis (interview)The Wolf’s Curse9/10/216/10*
Brandie June (interview)Gold Spun6/26/218/10*
close

🤞 Don’t miss these tips!

Monthly writing advice in your inbox PLUS get entered to win an All By My Shelf Membership which gets you access to exclusive content and the opportunity to ask my author guests a question!

Published by J. M. Tuckerman

J.M.Tuckerman is a neurodivergent writer with a big education. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults, an MA in Writing, and a BA in Writing Arts (specializing in Creative Writing, New Media Writing, and Publication; concentrating in New Media Production), which she somehow managed to earn despite her three very loud and large dogs. Jessica was lucky enough to intern at Quirk Books and Picador, USA while earning her master’s degrees. Her service dog, Ringo, is very proud of all that she has accomplished and hopes to be on a back cover of a published book with her very soon. An avid reader, writer, and lover of young adult and middle-grade literature, Jessica’s bookshelf is overflowing with hardbacks, paperbacks, and a million half-filled notebooks. She is a proud fur-mommy to two lab/st-bernard littermates, a retriever-mix service dog, and one orange little hobgoblin cat, all of whom have made very audible appearances on the Booked All Night podcast.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: