The Art of Making Mood Boards for Your KidLit WIP

A mood board is a type of visual presentation or ‘collage’ consisting of images, text, and samples of objects in a composition. It can be based on a set topic or can be any material chosen at random. A mood board can be used to convey a general idea or feeling about a particular topic.

Outlining Your Kidlit Novel

It doesn’t matter what age you write for, writers will always debate whether it’s better to be a plotter or a pantser. A plotter is someone who outlines their novel completely before beginning to write it (sometimes overly so); a pantser is someone who “writes by the seat of their pants,” completely winging their novel.Continue reading “Outlining Your Kidlit Novel”

Let’s Talk About Dialogue: Tags and Beats

As an editor, I see a lot of new writers attempt to break their dialogue up with beats. Beats are handy for adding rhythm to the dialogue and forcing natural pauses where you want action to happen, but when you use them incorrectly they become a burden on the reader, and, before it even gets there, the editor.

Analysis of Five Midnights by Ann Davila Cardinal

Five friends cursed. Five deadly fates. Five nights of retribución.

If Lupe Dávila and Javier Utierre can survive each other’s company, together they can solve a series of grisly murders sweeping though Puerto Rico. But the clues lead them out of the real world and into the realm of myths and legends. And if they want to catch the killer, they’ll have to step into the shadows to see what’s lurking there–murderer, or monster?

Upcoming Interview with Jessica Speer

August 16th, 2021 @3pm EST, Jessica Speer, author of BFF or NRF will be coming by to talk shop on the podcast. Want to ask her about her book? Writing non-fiction for kids? Or anything else your heart desires? Become a supporter or member for just $5. Suporters make a one time payment, members make a monthly payment. There will be member exclusives in the future.

What Happens Next

Can a star be put back in the sky even after it’s fallen? In this heartfelt, entertaining, and accessible middle grade novel perfect for fans of The Truth About Jellyfish, one girl makes it her summer mission to find out.

Astronomy-obsessed Abby McCourt should be thrilled about the solar eclipse her small town of Moose Junction is about to witness, but she’s not. After her older sister Blair was sent away for an eating disorder, Abby has been in a funk. Desperate to dull the pain her sister’s absence has left, she teams up with a visiting astronomer, Dr. Leo Lacamoire, to help track down his long-lost telescope. Though this is supposed to take Abby’s mind off the distance between her and Blair, what she finds may bring her closer to her sister than she ever thought possible.

HELP! WE’VE BEEN TURNED INTO BATS!

Help! A witch cursed us and we’ve all been turned into bats! But when she left she dropped the batty antidote. Search our most recent posts for the ingredients to the cure! We’d be so grateful that we’d give you any book you wanted!